NH Historic Marker

The Berlin & Coos County Historical Society successfully applied for and was granted a NH State Historic Marker for the location of the first permanent residence in what was then Maynesborough. This marker is located on the East Milan Road between the Brown Company barns, now owned by the Berlin & Coos County Historical Society. This first house was built by William Sessions in 1823 with the help of his young nephew, Cyrus Wheeler. 2010 is the 200th anniversary of the birth of Cyrus Wheeler who was born July 5, 1810 in Gilead, Maine.  The marker was dedicated on Saturday, May 29 with many descendants of the original builders in attendance. The Wheelers came from Pennsylvania and the Sessions came from the nearby Bethel, Maine area. Almost 80 people joined the celebration, including Boy Scouts who had helped to beautify the area between the barns. This is only the second state marker in Berlin; the other being on upper Main Street to showcase the Boom Piers, which are prominent in that area.

Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedIn
This entry was posted in Newsletter and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.